Breakfast · Meal Prep

Cookie Baked Oatmeal

Cookie Baked Oatmeal.

Makes 4-5 servings.
5 minute prep time.
25 minute cook time.

This recipe is dear to my heart, as it was the first plant-based recipe I ever created on my own! I gathered inspiration during my third trimester of pregnancy (because why not satisfy cookie cravings with a nutritional boost?!) and had my chef husband make it to test my writing skills – passed. He made it often for me in the first few months of newborn life. Bless his heart for keeping his girls fueled well.

Now I’ll say that I am the definition of a cookie monster- if there are cookies, they are in my belly. So I love this tray of cookie components as a nourishing breakfast “treat” that is actually a great source of energy-generating carbohydrates, fiber, and plant-based protein, that’s naturally sweetened to boot.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 Tbsp ground flaxseed (tip: just throw 1 tbsp whole flaxseeds in a bullet blender to grind up)
  • 2 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • Sprinkle of nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp Himalayan pink salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 Tbsp melted coconut oil
  • 3/4 cup oat milk
  • 1/4 cup raisins or dairy-free chocolate chips
  • 1.5 cups old-fashioned rolled oats

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375*F. In a large bowl, whisk together the apple sauce, flaxseed, syrup, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, baking powder, and coconut oil.
  2. Add the milk and whisk until smooth.
  3. Add the raisins or chocolate and rolled oats. Stir with a spoon until the mixture is combined. Lightly coat a casserole dish with non-stick spray, then pour the oat mixture into the dish.
  4. Bake the oatmeal uncovered for 25 minutes.
  5. Divide into 4 bowls/containers.
  6. Sprinkle with hemp hearts for an added protein boost and drizzle a tsp of maple syrup.

It’s forever a favourite for family breakfasts!

One thought on “Cookie Baked Oatmeal

Leave a comment